A ravishing concert by sensational rising cello star, Matthias Balzat, visiting from Dusseldorf, with Melbourne favourites Laurence Matheson, piano, and Wilma Smith, violin. The program includes Schubert’s sublime “Arpeggione” Sonata and Schumann’s deeply emotional Adagio and Allegro for cello and piano. Wilma then joins Matthias and Laurence for Arensky’s beloved Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor Op. 32.


Presented by Virtuosi Tasmania

Thursday 6 February at 6pm

Hobart Town Hall

50 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania



Book tickets here


Co-hosted by Tempo Rubato

Sunday 9 February at 5pm

Tempo Rubato

34 Breese St, Brunswick, Victoria


$25 (Adults)

$20 (Concession- Students, Seniors)

Book tickets here


Matthias Balzat, cello

Laurence Matheson, piano

Wilma Smith, violin

Schubert “Arpeggione” Sonata D. 821 for cello and piano

Schumann Adagio and Allegro Op. 70 for cello and piano

Arensky Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor Op. 32